Big 12 Conference Lands Eight Teams In NCAA Tournament

Heartland College Sports – An Independent Big 12 Today Blog

With Selection Sunday officially in the books, the Big 12 Conference has officially eight teams in the 2024 NCAA Tournament, sharing the most bids in the tournament with the SEC.

Eight teams from the league earned bids, with one team many expected to make the field — Oklahoma — left out of the field. The Sooners were the first team left out of the field.


OU will now be available to the NIT, if the Sooners wish to go. The top two Big 12 teams in NCAA NET that were not invited to the NCAA Tournament automatically go to the NIT. In this case that is Cincinnati and Oklahoma.

The top-seeded team from the Big 12 Conference was the regular season champion Houston Cougars, who were awarded the No. 1 seed in the South Region. That will bring the Cougars through Dallas, as the Sweet 16 and Elite Eight are at the American Airlines Center, assuming the Cougars win their first two games.

Following closely behind was T.J. Otzelberger and the Iowa State Cyclones, who, despite taking down the nation’s top-ranked team en route to a Big 12 Tournament Championship, were awarded a No. 2 seed in the East Region and will star their NCAA Tournament in Omaha, Neb.


  • Houston, No. 1 seed, South Region
  • Iowa State, No. 2 seed, East Region
  • Baylor, No. 3 seed, West Region
  • Kansas No. 4 seed, Midwest Region
  • BYU, No. 6 seed, East Region
  • Texas Tech, No. 6 seed, South Region
  • Texas, No. 7 seed, Midwest Region
  • TCU, No. 9 seed, Midwest Region

The first round of the NCAA Tournament tips off on Thursday, March 21. With the Big 12 Conference fielding more teams than any other conference, the league should have a good chance of placing teams in the final rounds of the bracket.